Impressionism

I am rather impartial to the Impressionist style of art.  I find Impressionism unique and I do enjoy some of the pieces of work, but it is not my favorite style.  I appreciate the talent and techniques used to create the art.  The art looks a lot different from the other styles with the loose brush strokes, sketchy lines, and random dabs of color that blend together.  My first thought of impressionist art was that it looked sloppier than the previous styles of art, but after seeing more of the paintings I realized that it is actually quite unique.  The subject matter of impressionism involved the transitory effects of light and weather, the amusements and pastimes of the upper and middle classes, and pleasant moments.  Impressionism subject matter does not focus on historical and classical antiquities, and religion. 

An example of a work of art that I enjoy is Impression Sunrise by Claude Monet.  This work was the work that created the term Impressionism.  You can see the loose brush strokes, dabs of broken color, and controlled compositions in water, sky, and trees throughout the painting.  Monet did a great job in this painting and gave the painting a very unique look, different than ever before.  Although this impressionist painting by Monet is great art, I am a bigger fan of neoclassical art and Northern Renaissance art. 

Claude Monet, Impression Sunrise, Musee Marmottan Monet 1873

My favorite work of visual arts from the Northern Renaissance was Albrecht Durer’s Four Horsemen of the Apocalypse.  I found the detail of the horses and the people in the painting to be magnificent and I really like the action of the painting.  I feel like the painting is an action shot and brings the scene to life.  I liked the dramatic effect of the painting and the motion and danger that was brought into that moment.  Overall, I liked quite a few of the paintings but this one was my favorite.

Albrecht Durer, Four Horsemen of the Apocalypse, ca. 1497-1498

The Impressionism style of art is different than the neoclassical style in that the characteristics of a neoclassical style painting include being somber, linear, and capturing frozen moments in time.  There was a focus on moral virtue, patriotic self-sacrifice, goodly deeds, and Roman ideals.  The subject matter consisted of Roman stories of virtuous behavior, heroism, and tributes to self-sacrifice.

Then there is also Rococo style painting.  Characteristics of a Rococo style painting were pastel colors, gracefully delicate curving shapes and forms, fanciful figures, ornamental, lighter, more elegant, and not heavy or dramatic.  I was not a huge fan of Rococo just because of the fact it was very light and elegant, not overly dramatic, and that there was an emphasis on pleasure.  The subject matter was also light and frivolous with an emphasis on pleasure.  I prefer the neoclassical style of art because of the focus it had on moral virtue and good deeds.  I also enjoyed how the paintings captured frozen moments in time and I loved how the subject matter consisted of heroism. 

As you can see, there are a lot of differences throughout the various styles of art.  Impressionist art is very unique and a lot of people love the art, but for me it is not my favorite style.  I respect the artists and admire the work and enjoy some of the work, but overall I am impartial to the impressionist style of art. 

Brandon Knelsen

2 Responses to “Impressionism”

  1. Lisa Kljaich Says:

    No comments were posted on your blog – Hmm… is blog moderation turned on?

  2. Buy the try anti snoring devices Says:

    Buy the try anti snoring devices…

    […]Impressionism « Brandonk10's Blog[…]…

Leave a comment